ⓘ Light On (Maggie Rogers song)


ⓘ Light On (Maggie Rogers song)

Light On is a song by American singer and songwriter Maggie Rogers. It was released on October 10, 2018 as the fifth single of Rogers major-label debut studio album, Heard It in a Past Life. Rogers co-wrote the song with Kid Harpoon and both co-produced it with Greg Kurstin.


1. Background

Announcing the song release, she revealed that the track was about "gratitude". "it’s the most vulnerable ive ever felt in a song" I wrote this record which captures all those feelings of being overwhelmed and being uncertain. I realized the one story I hadn’t written was about all of the joy. I really wanted to say thank you to my fans, and write a letter to them to tell them what had happened and how much they meant to me. Because in all this time when I was really uncertain, I would get on stage every night, and be so certain. It was never the music I was unsure about, it was everything else around it that I found overwhelming.


2. Critical reception

Meredith Nardino of Atwood Magazine said that ".Rogers is laying her whole heart on the table, bringing us backstage to some of the most challenging moments of her creative life." Upon reviewing for the associated album, Clash called it as the "stand out track" of the album, commented: where infectious energy and choppy beats are enough to bob Rogers’ characteristically peppy vocals over some of the prettiest melody you are likely to hear this year." Writing for Variety, Chris Willman called the track "gets passionate about feeling strangely passionless."


3. Live performances

On November 3, 2018, Rogers performed the song during her appearance on the forty-fourth season of Saturday Night Live. The performance was met with a mixed response, with Bustle called it as "may not have been the best introduction". She performed it on Ellen on January 16, 2019. During her Heard in a Past Life Tour stop at the O 2 Academy, Brixton, England, she brought out musician Florence Welch to perform the song. Rogers performed the track during her morning television debut set on Today Show on April 25, 2019.


4. Personnel

  • Emily Lazar – mastering
  • Kid Harpoon – production, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, electric guitar, piano, drum programming
  • Alex Pasco – engineering
  • Serban Ghenea – mixing
  • Maggie Rogers – vocals, production, percussion
  • Greg Kurstin – production, bass, drums, guitar, keyboards, piano, engineering
  • Julian Burg – engineering
  • John Hanes – mixing engineering
  • Chris Allgood – mastering engineer assistance

Credits adapted from Tidal.